Big Ten, Big East to play Gavitt Games starting in 2015-16

By Brendan Stiles

HawkeyeDrive.com

The Big Ten and Big East Conferences have agreed to an eight-year series of college basketball contests that will be known as the Gavitt Tipoff Games, starting with the 2015-16 season. This event is named in honor of the late Dave Gavitt, who was the original founder of the Big East Conference in 1979 after coaching for 10 years at Providence College.

During each of the eight seasons this series will take place, eight games will be played the first week of the season — two games per day from Tuesday through Friday. All match-ups that are part of the Gavitt Tipoff Games will be televised nationally on ESPN, the Big Ten Network and Fox Sports 1. Games played at Big Ten venues will be carried by ESPN and BTN, while Fox Sports 1 will televise all match-ups played at Big East venues.

The games will be played on campus sites of Big Ten and Big East schools. While the Big Ten will feature 14 schools beginning in July, the Big East — which is now basketball-only — currently features 10 schools: Butler, Creighton, DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, St. John's, Seton Hall, Villanova and Xavier.

Under the agreement set in place by both conference, all 14 Big Ten programs will be featured a minimum of four times in the Gavitt Tipoff Games over the eight-year span while all 10 Big East programs are included a minimum of six times. Any match-ups that already happen on an annual basis between Big

Ten and Big East schools (i.e. Wisconsin vs. Marquette, Nebraska vs. Creighton) will continue as is and would not be included as part of this event.

Match-ups for the 2015-16 season will be announced next spring.