Friday, 15th December 2017

Kaeding headlines 2014 Hall of Fame class

Posted on 05. Jun, 2014 by in Iowa Football

By Brendan Stiles

Former Iowa kicker Nate Kaeding is will be enshrined into the 2014 class for the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame, the UI announced Thursday. Kaeding is one of six members selected into the 2014 class.

Prior to having an 9-year NFL career that was predominantly spent with the San Diego Chargers, the Coralville native handled place-kicking duties for the Hawkeyes from 2000-2003. Kaeding won the Lou Groza Award in 2002 after a junior season where he made 21-of-24 field goal attempts and 57-of-58 PAT tries. He also has one career touchdown run, which came on a fake field goal attempt against Ohio State in 2003.

Kaeding is Iowa’s all-time leader in points scored with 373 of them during his four-year career, which includes kicking 67-of-83 on field goals and 166-of-169 on extra points.

Joining Kaeding in this year’s class are former gymnast Don Hatch, former wrestler Bruce Kinseth, former track and fielder Jon Reimer, former cross country runner/track and fielder Jeanne Kruckeberg and Jerry Hassard, who coached both women’s cross country and track and field for 20 years. They will all be officially inducted during a ceremony on Aug. 29, one day before the Hawkeyes’ 2014 season opener against Northern Iowa.


Comments are closed.