Monday, 24th June 2024

2010 Hall of Fame class announced

Posted on 11. Jun, 2010 by in Iowa Football


The National Iowa Varsity Club announced its 2010 class for the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday at the Roy G. Karro Building in Iowa City.

Highlighting this year’s inductees is former Iowa running back Bob Jeter. A native of Wierton, W.V., Jeter was a three-year letterwinner for the Hawkeyes, and was a member of the 1958 squad that won the Big Ten and defeated California in the Rose Bowl. In fact, Jeter was the MVP of the 1959 Rose Bowl after rushing for 194 yards on nine carries, including an 81-yard touchdown run that is still a Rose Bowl record. Jeter will be inducted posthumously after dying in November of 2008.

Among the other inductees were wrestlers Mark Ironside and Ken Leuer, former field hockey coach Beth Beglin, and tracksters Tracy Dahl and Antuan Maybank.

Also announced this evening was the decision to rename Stadium Drive in honor of the late Forest Evashevski, who passed away last year. Evashevski won two Rose Bowls as Iowa’s head coach, and his 1960 squad will be recognized on the same day of this dedication, Sept. 3, during the second annual FryFest.

The 2010 Hall of Fame class will be recognized on Sept. 4 at Kinnick Stadium during Iowa’s season opener against Eastern Illinois, and later that day, will officially be enshrined.

— by Brendan Stiles


Comments are closed.