Sunday, 23rd June 2024

Eleven Hawkeyes garner all-Big Ten honors

Posted on 29. Nov, 2010 by in Iowa Football


By Brendan Stiles

The Big Ten conference announced its all-Big Ten first and second teams on Monday, and gave out yearly awards as well. Eleven different Iowa players earned conference accolades for year.

Headlining the group of Hawkeyes were senior defensive end Adrian Clayborn, junior cornerback Shaun Prater, and junior safety Tyler Sash, all of whom were named all-Big Ten first team defense by both the coaches and media. Also receiving a first-team honor from the coaches only on the offensive side of the football was senior wide receiver Derrell Johnson-Koulianos.

Meanwhile, seven Hawkeyes were selected second team all-Big Ten, three of whom were consensus picks — senior defensive tackle Karl Klug, senior offensive lineman Julian Vandervelde and sophomore offensive lineman Riley Reiff. Receiving honors from the coaches on offense were senior tight end Allen Reisner and junior wide receiver Marvin McNutt, and on defense, senior linebacker Jeremiha Hunter and senior safety Brett Greenwood both scooped up accolades.

In other conference news, Michigan State head coach Mark Dantonio was named Big Ten Coach of the Year after guiding the Spartans to a 3-way share of the conference’s regular season crown. As far as player honors, Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson was selected as Offensive Player of the Year, Purdue defensive end Ryan Kerrigan was chosen as Defensive Player of the Year, and Wisconsin running back James White was Freshman of the Year.

Iowa will learn what bowl it will head to Sunday evening.


Comments are closed.