Tuesday, 23rd April 2024

Big Ten announces division names, reveals new logo

Posted on 13. Dec, 2010 by in Iowa Football


By Brendan Stiles


The Big Ten conference revealed its new logo beginning in 2011, and also announced the names of its football divisions on Monday on a program televised by the Big Ten Network.

Iowa will be a member of the Legends Division, which also features Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, and Northwestern. The other six programs will be in the Leaders Division.

“We’re hopeful that it will resonate over time, and that it will continue to give us an opportunity to speak to our past, as well as to the future,” Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany said regarding the names of the new divisions.

The two division winners will meet in the inaugural Big Ten Championship Game on Dec. 3, 2011, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Ind.¬†Whoever wins that contest will receive the Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy, named after both Amos Alonzo Stagg, who was one of college football’s winningest coaches at the University of Chicago back when it was a Big Ten institution, and current Penn State head coach Joe Paterno, who has 401 career coaching victories to his name.

As for the title game’s most valuable player honor, it is dubbed the Grange-Griffin Championship Game MVP. This trophy is named after Illinois legend Harold “Red” Grange and former Ohio State running back Archie Griffin, who is the only college football player to win two Heisman trophies.

The conference also announced 16 other new trophies in addition to the aforementioned prizes, two of which are named after prominent Hawkeyes. The Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award is a postgraduate honor named after 1939 Heisman Trophy winner Nile Kinnick and former U.S. President Gerald Ford, who is a Michigan alumnus.

Meanwhile the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year will be given to the conference’s top tight end. That honor is named after Penn State’s Ted Kwalick and former Hawkeye tight end Dallas Clark, who won the John Mackey Award in 2002, and is currently playing for the NFL’s Indianapolis Colts.


Comments are closed.