Sunday, 26th May 2024

McCaffery: Iowa to honor 1986-87 squad

Posted on 12. May, 2011 by in Iowa Basketball


By Brendan Stiles

Iowa head coach Fran McCaffery was a guest on KDWN’s “Sports X Radio,” on May 11 and revealed on the Las Vegas radio show that the men’s basketball program plans to recognize the 25th anniversary of the 1986-87 squad sometime this upcoming season.

The Hawkeyes won a school record 30 games in what was Tom Davis’ first season as Iowa’s head coach, and reached the Elite Eight in 1987 before losing to UNLV. Among the members on that team were Kevin Gamble, B.J. Armstrong, Gerry Wright, Brad Lohaus, Jeff Moe, Ed Horton, Al Lorenzen and Roy Marble, who is the father of current Hawkeye Devyn Marble.

“That was one of the great teams and Tom Davis is one of the best coaches in college basketball in the last 25 years,” McCaffery said to the show’s host, Ken Thomson. “We’re going to bring that team back and honor them for the 25th anniversary.”

One other topic Thomson discussed with McCaffery near the end of the interview was the recruitment of junior college transfer Anthony Hubbard, who signed his letter of intent with Iowa on April 23.

The segment featuring McCaffery is approximately 24 minutes long and begins around the 56:00 mark. Definitely worth the listen.

*Kudos to Twitter follower Kevin Robinson (@kvnrbnsn) for bringing this to my attention.


Comments are closed.