Friday, 8th December 2023

McNutt headlines group of Hawkeyes honored by conference

Posted on 28. Nov, 2011 by in Iowa Football


By Brendan Stiles

Iowa senior wide receiver Marvin McNutt was selected as the first-ever recipient of the Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year Award given to the Big Ten’s top wideout on Monday, and was also named first-team all-Big Ten along with Illinois’ A.J. Jenkins, the conference announced.

McNutt led the Big Ten in both receiving yards (averaging 105.8 yards per game) and touchdown receptions, hauling in 12 of them to set a new single-season record at Iowa. He also became Iowa’s all-time leader in receiving touchdowns and receiving yards.

Joining him as a first-team honoree was junior offensive tackle Riley Reiff and senior cornerback Shaun Prater, who was a coaches’ choice.

Second-team honorees included sophomore running back Marcus Coker, senior offensive guard Adam Gettis, senior defensive tackle Mike Daniels, senior defensive end Broderick Binns and junior cornerback Micah Hyde. Coker, Gettis and Daniels were all selected by the coaches, while Binns and Hyde were both chosen by the media.

Among those recognized for honorable mention were senior offensive tackle Markus Zusevics, senior punter Eric Guthrie, junior center James Ferentz, sophomore linebacker James Morris, and senior linebacker Tyler Nielsen. All but Nielsen were recognized by both coaches and media, while Nielsen was a media honorable mention.


WR Marvin McNutt (Both)

OT Riley Reiff (Both)

CB Shaun Prater (Coaches)


RB Marcus Coker (Coaches)

OG Adam Gettis (Coaches)

DT Mike Daniels (Coaches)

DE Broderick Binns (Media)

CB Micah Hyde (Media)


C James Ferentz (Both)

OT Markus Zusevics (Both)

LB James Morris (Both)

P Eric Guthrie (Both)

DE Broderick Binns (Coaches)

CB Micah Hyde (Coaches)

OG Adam Gettis (Media)

DT Mike Daniels (Media)

LB Tyler Nielsen (Media)

CB Shaun Prater (Media)


Comments are closed.