Tuesday, 23rd April 2024

Gatens, White pick up Big Ten honors

Posted on 05. Mar, 2012 by in Iowa Basketball


By Brendan Stiles


Iowa senior guard Matt Gatens and freshman forward Aaron White were both recognized Monday by the Big Ten conference. Gatens was selected second-team all-Big Ten by the media and third-team all-Big Ten by the coaches, while White was named to the all-Freshman team and was selected as honorable mention by the media.

For Gatens, the accolades come after a season where he finished fifth in the Big Ten in scoring during league play, averaging 17 points per game. He was also third in the Big Ten in 3-point field goal percentage shooting 48 percent from behind the arc in conference play, and made a league-high 49 3-pointers. Gatens became the first Hawkeye to make any all-Big Ten team since Tony Freeman in 2008.

As for White, he averaged 11.3 points and 5.6 rebounds per game during Big Ten play and was third on the Hawkeyes in scoring and led the team in rebounding with 10.4 points and 5.4 rebounds per game. White made the all-Freshman team along with Michigan guard Trey Burke, Northwestern guard Dave Sobolewski, Michigan State guard Branden Dawson and Indiana center Cody Zeller. Burke and Zeller split the Big Ten Freshman of the Year vote with Burke getting the nod from the media and Zeller from the coaches.

Gatens was also named Iowa’s recipient for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Michigan State forward Draymond Green was named Big Ten Player of the Year and was one of four consensus first-team all-Big Ten selections (the others being Ohio State forward Jared Sullinger, Northwestern forward John Shurna and Purdue forward Robbie Hummel). The media selected Penn State guard Tim Frazier first-team while the coaches went with Wisconsin guard Jordan Taylor. Michigan State head coach Tom Izzo was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.


Comments are closed.