Sunday, 23rd June 2024

Hyde named first-team all-Big Ten

Posted on 26. Nov, 2012 by in Iowa Football


By Brendan Stiles

Iowa senior cornerback Micah Hyde was the lone Hawkeye player to be named first-team all-Big Ten, receiving consensus honors from both the coaches and media. He was also awarded the Tate-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year Award, presented to the conference’s top defensive back.

Hyde recorded 78 tackles in 2012. He also led the Hawkeyes with 14 pass break ups and recorded one interception, as well as two forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries, one of which was returned for a touchdown against Purdue on Nov. 10.

Senior center James Ferentz was selected second-team by the coaches and was among six players to be named honorable mention by the media. Receiving consensus honorable mention were junior tight end C.J. Fiedorowicz, junior linebacker Anthony Hitchens and junior kicker Mike Meyer.

Senior offensive lineman Matt Tobin was also named honorable mention by the coaches. Also garnering honorable mention from the media were senior defensive end Joe Gaglione and junior linebacker James Morris.

Iowa’s honoree for the Big Ten’s Sportsmanship Award was senior quarterback James Vandenberg.


Comments are closed.