Thursday, 18th April 2024

Hawkeye trio to play in inaugural all-star game

Posted on 09. Jan, 2013 by in Iowa Football


By Brendan Stiles

Three seniors from last year’s Iowa football team — quarterback James Vandenberg, offensive lineman Matt Tobin and cornerback Greg Castillo — have been selected to participate in the inaugural Raycom College Football All-Star Classic. The game is scheduled to take place at 2 p.m. Central in Montgomery, Ala., and will be televised nationally on CBS Sports Network.

Vandenberg comes off a senior campaign where he compiled 2,249 passing yards, seven touchdowns and eight interceptions. Tobin started all 12 games for the Hawkeyes last season along the offensive line, including the last five at left tackle following a season-ending injury to Brandon Scherff. Castillo recorded two interceptions in 2012, one of which came in the second overtime of Iowa’s 19-16 win over Michigan State on Oct. 13.

In addition to these three, Iowa also has three representatives in the East-West Shrine Game being played that same afternoon — cornerback Micah Hyde, center James Ferentz and wide receiver Keenan Davis.


Comments are closed.