Saturday, 20th July 2024

2013-14 Big Ten single plays revealed

Posted on 14. May, 2013 by in Iowa Basketball


By Brendan Stiles

The Big Ten has not made an official announcement, but single plays have been determined for conference play during the 2013-14 season.

Iowa head coach Fran McCaffery, who was in Chicago for the Big Ten’s spring meetings this week, told the Cedar Rapids Gazette’s Scott Dochterman on Tuesday the Hawkeyes’ single plays would consist of home games against Nebraska and Purdue and road contests at Indiana and Penn State. Last season, Iowa went a combined 4-4 against these four opponents.

From there, other Big Ten schools’ single plays began to leak via Twitter — either by teams’ beat writers or the teams themselves. Single plays used to span over two seasons so teams played everyone home and road at least once over a two-year span. With Maryland and Rutgers joining the Big Ten in 2014, these single plays are for the 2013-14 season only.

Below is a list of all 12 teams’ single plays for the 2013-14 season (Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue and Wisconsin have all officially announced single plays. Media outlets covering Indiana and Michigan have confirmed both teams’ single plays. Process of elimination was used to determine the remaining three — Michigan State, Minnesota and Penn State):

Iowa: Home – Nebraska, Purdue; Away – Indiana, Penn State

Illinois: Home – Michigan, Purdue; Away – Minnesota, Northwestern

Indiana: Home – Iowa, Ohio State; Away – Minnesota, Purdue

Michigan: Home – Northwestern, Penn State; Away – Illinois, Ohio State

Michigan State: Home – Minnesota, Nebraska; Away – Purdue, Wisconsin

Minnesota: Home – Illinois, Indiana; Away – Michigan State, Nebraska

Nebraska: Home – Minnesota, Wisconsin; Away – Iowa, Michigan State

Northwestern: Home – Illinois, Penn State; Away – Michigan Ohio State

Ohio State: Home – Michigan, Northwestern; Away – Indiana, Wisconsin

Penn State: Home – Iowa, Wisconsin; Away – Michigan, Northwestern

Purdue: Home – Indiana, Michigan State; Away – Illinois, Iowa

Wisconsin: Home – Michigan State, Ohio State; Away – Nebraska, Penn State


Comments are closed.