Thursday, 30th May 2024

Kinnick Stadium will now feature “Wall of Honor”

Posted on 20. Aug, 2013 by in Iowa Football


By Brendan Stiles

Nine former Iowa football players will be honored before the Hawkeyes’ season opener Aug. 31 against Northern Illinois on a new feature at Kinnick Stadium called the “Wall of Honor,” the UI announced Tuesday.

Of the nine being recognized, the three who are currently still alive are former quarterbacks Randy Duncan and Chuck Long and former linebacker Larry Station. The six deceased players include Nile Kinnick and Cal Jones (who are the only Hawkeyes with their jersey numbers retired — No. 24 and No. 62, respectively), as well as Alex Karras, Aubrey Devine, Duke Slater and Gordon Locke.

According to the UI’s release, all nine men will have their names and jersey numbers from their senior seasons displayed on the lowest ribbon adjacent to the stadium’s press box. The criteria for this honor included either being a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and now-defunct Helms Athletic Foundation Hall of Fame, one of those two Hall of Fames and consensus all-American honors, or being named a consensus all-American on multiple occasions.

In addition to this, Iowa is conducting its fifth annual FryFest the day before (Aug. 30) as well as inducting its new Athletics Hall of Fame class, which features former football players Brad Banks and Craig Clemons among this year’s list of inductees.


Comments are closed.