Thursday, 30th May 2024

Trio of Hawkeyes named first-team all-Big Ten

Posted on 02. Dec, 2013 by in Iowa Football


By Brendan Stiles

Three Iowa football players were named first-team all-Big Ten on Monday, but there was zero consensus on the Hawkeye trio.

Iowa senior cornerback B.J. Lowery was named a first-team defensive back by the media, while the coaches named junior left tackle Brandon Scherff and senior tight end C.J. Fiedorowicz first-team. Fiedorowicz’s first-team honor from the coaches comes despite Michigan tight end Devin Funchess being named the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year.

Lowery had 55 tackles and was second in the Big Ten in pass break-ups with 19 of them this season. He also recorded three interceptions, two of which were taken back for touchdowns in a 59-3 win over Western Michigan that earned him conference player of the week honors. Fiedorowicz has a team-high six touchdown receptions, including five touchdowns in Iowa’s last seven games.

As far as second-team players go, the only Hawkeye to receive consensus honors was senior linebacker James Morris. The Solon native recorded 98 tackles (14.5 tackles for negative yardage) and five sacks. He also had a team-high four interceptions for Iowa this season. Morris was also named Iowa’s honoree for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Fiedorowicz, Scherff and senior kicker Mike Meyer were both named second-team all-Big Ten by the media, while senior linebacker Anthony Hitchens, senior offensive tackle Brett Van Sloten and junior defensive tackle Carl Davis were both second-team all-Big Ten by the coaches.

Five Hawkeye players received consensus honorable mention — senior linebacker Christian Kirksey, senior free safety Tanner Miller, senior left guard Conor Boffeli, junior defensive tackle Louis Trinca-Pasat and sophomore center Austin Blythe. Lowery was named honorable mention by the coaches, while the media tabbed Davis, Hitchens, Van Sloten, senior long snapper Casey Kreiter and junior strong safety John Lowdermilk as honorable mention.


Comments are closed.