Monday, 17th June 2024

Hawkeyes’ single-plays for 2014-15 season revealed

Posted on 28. Feb, 2014 by in Iowa Basketball


By Brendan Stiles

With Maryland and Rutgers joining the Big Ten next season, the 18-game men’s basketball schedule is being reconfigured in a manner where Iowa plays five teams twice and the remaining eight teams only once.

Iowa learned Friday afternoon how its 2014-15 schedule will shake out. The five teams playing the Hawkeyes twice next season will be Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio State and Wisconsin. Iowa has played four of these teams twice this season and had the Cornhuskers as a single-play. Next season will mark the Hawkeyes’ first trip to Pinnacle Bank Arena in Lincoln, Neb.

For the second consecutive season, Iowa will only play Indiana and Penn State once with both games happening on the road. The Hawkeyes’ other road single plays are Michigan and Purdue, with the latter being a single play this season (the Boilermakers visit Carver-Hawkeye Arena on Sunday).

The two newbies Maryland and Rutgers will both play Iowa once in Iowa City, with Illinois and Michigan State being the other two home single plays for the Hawkeyes. Both the Fighting Illini and Spartans only played Iowa once last season with both coming to Carver-Hawkeye Arena.

The actual 2014-15 schedule will be announced at a later date.


Home-and-Home: Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio State, Wisconsin

Home only: Illinois, Maryland, Michigan State, Rutgers

Road only: Indiana, Michigan, Penn State, Purdue


Comments are closed.